Friday, January 14, 2011

Love Languages

A long time ago I read "The Five Love Languages" by Gary Chapman. It is such a great book. It talks about how different people feel love in different ways. There are 5 specific love languages.
#1 Words of Affirmation
#2 Quality Time
#3 Receiving Gifts
#4 Acts of Service
#5 Physical Touch

I think the book was written specifically about the love between a husband and wife but, I feel like knowing someones love language can be useful in a lot of different relationships. Lately, I've been thinking about how it's important to know the love language of my children. Of course, Paisley is too young right now for me to tell what makes her feel the most loved but, it seems like Judah's love language is quality time. Spending quality time with Judah goes a long way. His attitude is better, he is happier and I can tell it makes him feel special. His love language might change as he gets older but for now, I need to remember that quality time is extra important for him.

My husband's love language is different than my own so, I forget to show him love in the way that makes HIM feel loved. Without even knowing it, I show my love in the way that makes ME feel loved.

What is your love language or what is your child's?

1 comment:

  1. Hi Angela -
    I like all the love languages but my favorite is words of affirmation and my second is probably physical touch...I love hugs! I, also, really like your new blog design!
    Love you! Mom


Thank you for your comments. I read every single one of them and they always make me smile.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...